TMRP PhD Studentships

MRC-NIHR Trials Methodology Research Partnership 

PhD studentships at various locations across the UK     

The MRC-NIHR Trials Methodology Research Partnership (TMRP) brings together a number of national and international networks, institutions and partners undertaking clinical trials and trials methodology research. Our overall aim being to improve patient care by improving the way in which the healthcare evidence base is developed.

Our PhD programme presents a unique opportunity to undertake training and research in major areas where clinical trials need to be improved to help increase the health of society. Projects encompass a variety of subject areas including statistics, mathematics, health economics, epidemiology, psychology, social science, computer science, informatics and health services research. 

  • Membership of a student cohort, embedded within an international network of health researchers and clinical trialists
  • Opportunity to join one or more of the 8 TMRP Working Groups
  • Exposure to a wide range of relevant research initiatives

 

Here are some of the HTMR Network PhD cohort describing their experiences and the benefits of studying for a PhD in trials methodology cohort and community such as TMRP - Charlie Harper, Heather Catt and Gemma Clayton

 

 

Name  University Title Email 

Sadia Ahmed 

University of Leeds 

Optimising implementation of complex healthcare interventions in elderly care trials

 hs18s2a@leeds.ac.uk

Saiam Ahmed 

MRC CTU at UCL

Optimising the use of routinely collected heath records in clinical trials

 saiam.ahmed@ucl.ac.uk

Arabella Baker

University of Nottingham

Measuring outcomes in eczema clinical trials

 Arabella.Baker@nottingham.ac.uk

Heather Barrington

University of Liverpool

Optimising patient participation in COS

 Heather.Bagley@liverpool.ac.uk
Lauren Bell LSHTM  Design of trials for health related smart phone apps  lauren.bell@lshtm.ac.uk
Mike Bradburn  University of Sheffield   Strengths and weaknesses of different methods for assessing the external validity of RCTs using routine data sources (particularly registries)  m.bradburn@sheffield.ac.uk
Kieran Bromley  Keele University  Measuring child development in low and middle income countries  k.bromley1@keele.ac.uk
Cydney Bruce University of Nottingham Methods for randomisation  Cydney.Bruce@nottingham.ac.uk
Anca Chis Ster Kings College London A unified approach for the statistical analysis of post-randomisation variables in clinical trials  anca.m.chis_ster@kcl.ac.uk
Jade Chynoweth University of Plymouth  Improving the efficiency of modelling complex physical activity data using novel statistical methods  jade.chynoweth@plymouth.ac.uk
Taylor Coffey University of Aberdeen  Using behavioural approaches to improve trial recruitment and retention  t.coffey.19@abdn.ac.uk
Saskia Eddy QMUL Choosing the design of an external pilot study, focusing on objectives and sample size  s.eddy@qmul.ac.uk
Nicola Farrar University of Bristol  Exploring patient perspectives of recruitment in randomised controlled trials  nicola.farrar@bristol.ac.uk
Kirsty Garfield  University of Bristol Developing a modular resource-use questionnaire for use in RCTs  kirsty.garfield@bristol.ac.uk
Nassos Gkekas  University of York The cost effectiveness of Studies within a Trial (SWATs) for improving recruitment and retention in RCTs  ag1378@york.ac.uk
Charlie Harper  University of Oxford  Can routine healthcare data be used to efficiently and reliably follow-up participants in renal trials: analyses using linked data form 2 large renal trials  charlie.harper@ndph.ox.ac.uk
Karen Hughes  University of Liverpool  Methods to assess and improve the uptake of core outcome sets  karen1@liverpool.ac.uk
Danielle Johnson  University of Liverpool Evidence synthesis for biomarker validity to inform biomarker-stratified trials  Danielle.Johnson@liv.ac.uk
Ben Jones  University of Plymouth  A Bayesian approach to the design and analysis of cluster randomised controlled Trials  ben.jones@plymouth.ac.uk
Jamlick Karumbi  University of Liverpool Extending COS participation to low and middle  income countries  J.Karumbi@liverpool.ac.uk
Mandy Lau  Cardiff University  The use of modern modelling methods for the statistical analysis of microbiological data in clinical trials of antimicrobial stewardship interventions  LauTM@cardiff.ac.uk
Yujin Lee University of Warwick  Statistical methods for analysing longitudinal ordinal data in emergency and critical care clinical trials  Yujin.Lee.1@warwick.ac.uk
Wang Pok Lo  University of Edinburgh The search for valid surrogate outcomes: review of current evidence and development of practical strategies for surrogate evaluation  w.p.lo@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rachel Maishman  University of Bristol  Development of an objective measure of clinical recovery after cardiac surgery for use in RCTs  rachel.maishman@bristol.ac.uk
Katie Mellor  University of Oxford  Improving the design, conduct, analysis and reporting of external pilot and feasibility studies  katie.mellor@seh.ox.ac.uk
Iqra Muhammad  University of Liverpool Automated search algorithms for trials methodology research  Iqra.Muhammad@liverpool.ac.uk
Luke Ouma  Newcastle University  Statistical methodology for precision medicine trials  l.o.ouma2@newcastle.ac.uk
Guilherme Pessoa-Amorim University of Oxford  Real-world drug data from electronic health records in the NHS: Validation and application in a randomised control trial of cardiovascular disease   guilherme.pessoa-amorim@ndph.ox.ac.uk
Yankier Pijeira Perez Bangor University  Optimal designs for studies that follow on from HTA coverage with evidence development decisions  y.pijeiraperez@bangor.ac.uk
Violeta Razanskaite  University of Liverpool Record-keeping in patients with inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) within electronic patient record systems: Current practice and motivations for collecting structured data  Violeta.Razanskaite@liv.ac.uk
Alessandra Serra  Cambridge University Adaptive clinical trial designs in infectious diseases  alessandra.serra@mrc-bsu.cam.ac.uk
Lukas Staudt University of Liverpool  Exploring the potential for the use of spinal registry data in clinical trials  L.Staudt@liverpool.ac.uk
Jacqueline Thompson  University of Birmingham  Methods for cluster crossover trials

 

 JYT998@student.bham.ac.uk

 

Alyssa Vanderbeek  Institute for Cancer Research  Statistical issues in design and analysis of platform trials in cancer  alyssa.vanderbeek@icr.ac.uk
Zhulin Yin Institute for Cancer Research Development and Implementation of Efficient Adaptive Designs in Early Phase Oncology Trials for Targeted Agents  zhulin.yin@icr.ac.uk
Abdullah Younis  University of Exeter  Assessing the value of outcome assessment blinding in randomised trials of complex interventions

 ay302@exeter.ac.uk